The PR Job Search Begins!

August 17, 2010

Just a little background

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amanda Peralta PR @ 1:26 am

Like many of you new PR Professionals out there, I am looking for a job. I just graduated college with a degree in Communication with a concentration in Public Relations but it doesn’t stop there.

I kept myself pretty busy in college. My first year at Western Carolina University in NC I applied for Editor-in-Chief of the campus newspaper and got the job! I changed the newspaper around into a new direction. Then I wanted a little something new. I changed my major to Public Relations. Before I got the position as Editor I had been writing for about five years. I was ready for something new. That is when I found something I loved and I found I was good at it.

I then joined PRSSA and Catamount Communications student run PR firm. A semester later I was PRSSA PR Director and CatComm’s Assistant Director. I found that I loved doing both jobs and they became my life. For almost a year I was in the fast lane of finding the perfect internship. Every internship I applied for I received an offer but I chose to work with Eric Mower and Associates in Charlotte NC. It was a top firm, number 16 in the nation and number one on the east coast. I worked hard to get that internship but I worked even harder at that internship. I actually loved it so much that I doubled up. I got real hands on experience, I wrote press releases, pitches, media training kits, learned how to measure media content, and much more. My supervisor even said that I was the only intern that really got more experience than all the other interns at EMA because of my background and experience. I also like to think I was good at it.

So after making my professors proud, family proud and more importantly myself proud I now was about to enter the job search world like everyone else. I took the advice my friends gave me and began looking for a job. I thought I had it all planned out and within months of my search I would find a entry-level job. WRONG. Boy was I sadly wrong.

So these blogs are not going to sugar coat anything. In fact these blogs are going to tell you the truth. The truth that your professors happen to leave out and the truth your friends do not want to tell you. For those of you that are getting ready to graduate with a degree in PR, you might want to take a second look at what you want to do with your life because you may be shocked with what you find. I know I was. But for those of you feeling my pain, maybe I can give you the reasons why this has happened to us. These blogs will have advice from experts that I have asked questions of and some feedback from my interviews.

So now it’s time we GET REAL!

2 Comments »

  1. I’m so excited you have a blog now! I will definitely be keeping up with it! btw, you KNOW you were amazing at your internship :]

    Comment by Lauren — August 17, 2010 @ 3:56 am | Reply

    • Thanks Lauren! Your just as amazing as me! Can you do me a favor and maybe put my blog link on WCU PRSSA website? I just want to get a lot of readers and I would really love it if you would help me out with the publicity with this blog. Thanks girl!!!

      Comment by Amanda Peralta PR — August 18, 2010 @ 4:00 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

